So I’m sure some of you have noticed that I’ve been slacking off in general this week… Mostly because I’ve found myself stuck in a bit of a rut. Crazy drops off the kid(s) around 7:15 every morning, and this week, I’ve had a lot of trouble getting to sleep, and staying that way.

I’ve been taking naps with Goomba, her two-year-old. As a result, my lists haven’t been getting completed, and to a point, this blog has been a bit neglected. I’ve been stuck in a rut.

I’m writing this post immediately after waking up, because the plan today is to shake the rut OFF, and do my entire lists today- because the weekly stuff hasn’t been done this week at all. If M goes to his game tournament in New Hampshire tomorrow, I am going to buckle down and do more housekeeping tomorrow, despite the fact that I usually take weekends off.

Fridays, lately, have been my only day off from having kids all week- and I tell you, I wonder to a point how some of you manage to keep a clean house with children small and large going behind you and keeping it chaotic. I admire you guys, truly.

I’m sure the difference for some of you is early training- play with a toy, put it away before you move on to the next one… Crazy’s kids are used to having their own chaotic play area that adults aren’t terribly bothered by… while I have this area in my house (we call it the ‘den’, and it’s a glorified storage room) it’s not particularly kid friendly at the moment… and I’ve been keeping their toys in the corner of the living room.

It’s typical for everyone to feel like their caught in a rut from time to time. The ability to recognize it though is important. We can all break free of our ruts, but it takes time, effort and conscious thought in order to make it happen.

